I’m slowly letting you go

lrm

I Am Slowly Learning To Let You Go
I am looking at the clouds outside my window, thinking about you even though I know that you don’t remember a single thing about me anymore. I am trying to mentally order myself to calm down, to steady my vision, to catch my breath.
I am standing here, hundreds of miles away from you, still hurting from losing you in my life.
I keeping telling myself that forgetting you will be easy, but after all these months – I can’t seem to completely wipe you out of my mind. I can’t mark a date in my calendar and convince myself that when I wake up the day after, my heart will no longer be searching for your presence. I can’t just delete your contact and photographs on my phone and expect that my feelings for you will magically vanish.
The art of letting you go has no expiration. Getting over you is a laborious and sometimes painful process. It is slow and requires a lot of patience. There’s no guarantee that putting myself in a different place will make moving on smoother or more convenient.
Letting you go ultimately depends on me. I am the one who has the final say if I’m really ready to release you out of my life. My heart is the only thing that can speak out for the truth.
It takes all of my strength to say this, but this is me accepting that we’ll never get a second chance anymore.