Rp..32 Perspective-Shifting Quotes About Forgiveness That Will Finally Set You Free

Because the only one you’re holding hostage when you refuse to forgive is you.

Curated by Heidi Priebe
June 28, 2016
Tweet This
Share This
1.
The energy of hatred won’t get you anywhere; but the energy of forgiveness, which reveals itself through love, will transform your life in a positive way.
Paulo Coelho, The Zahi
HatredForgivenessLovePainMoving Forward
FACEBOOK TWITTER
2.
Life becomes easier when you learn to accept an apology you never got.
Robert Brault, No Title
ApologiesForgivenessAngerHatredApologizing
FACEBOOK TWITTER
3.
Don’t get mad. Don’t get even. Do better. Much better. Rise above. Become so engulfed in your own success that you forget it ever happened.
Donald Driver, No Title
Self-EsteemRising AboveRevengeGetting EvenForgiveness
FACEBOOK TWITTER
4.
Forgiveness doesn’t sit there like a pretty boy in a bar. Forgiveness is the old fat guy you have to haul up a hill.
Cheryl Strayed, Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar
Forgiveness
FACEBOOK TWITTER
5.
Forgiveness doesn’t mean you let the forgiven stomp all over you once again. Forgiveness means you’ve found a way forward that acknowledges harm done and hurt caused without letting either your anger or your pain rule your life or define your relationship with the one who did you wrong.
Cheryl Strayed, Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar
ForgivenessMoving ForwardMoving On
FACEBOOK TWITTER
6.
Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain— and most fools do. But it takes character and self-control to be understanding and forgiving.
Dale Carnegie, How To Win Friends and Influence People
ForgivenessSelf-ControlEmpathyUnderstanding
FACEBOOK TWITTER
7.
Forgive them. All of your Thems. The more Thems you can forgive, the lighter you’ll feel.
Karen Salmansohn, — via Twitter.com
Forgiveness
FACEBOOK TWITTER
8.
What if I forgave myself? I thought. What if I forgave myself even though I’d done something I shouldn’t have? What if I was a liar and a cheat and there was no excuse for what I’d done other than because it was what I wanted and needed to do? What if I was sorry, but if I could go back in time I wouldn’t do anything differently than I had done? What if I’d actually wanted to fuck every one of those men? What if heroin taught me something? What if yes was the right answer instead of no? What if what made me do all those things everyone thought I shouldn’t have done was what also had got me here? What if I was never redeemed? What if I already was?
Cheryl Strayed, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
RedemptionForgivenessSelf-ForgivenessMistakesMaking Mistakes
FACEBOOK TWITTER
9.
You have to say ‘I am forgiven’ again and again until it becomes the story you believe about yourself.
Cheryl Strayed, Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar
ForgivenessForgiving Yourself
FACEBOOK TWITTER
10.
All I wanted was to crush him with my words. As if my words had the power to remove my pain and make us even. I was wrong. My words bounced back and cut my wound deeper. Pain is not healed with anger. The wound only closes when forgiveness shows its face.
Mirtha Michelle Castro, Letters, To The Men I Have Loved
ForgivenessPainHealingMoving On
FACEBOOK TWITTER
11.
Don’t become who hurt you.
Julia Perluzzo, Untitled
AngerRevengeForgivenessLetting Go
FACEBOOK TWITTER
12.
None of us can take back what we’ve done in the past, the most meaningful apology is how you live the rest of your life.
Kathryn Schulz (via. Penny Beernsten), Being Wrong
MistakesMaking MistakesForgivenessChangeRedemption
FACEBOOK TWITTER
13.
Forgiveness is the release of all hope for a better past.
Buddy Wakefield, Gentleman Practice
ForgivenessChangeThe PastThe FutureReality
FACEBOOK TWITTER
14.
I’ve been trying to get down to the heart of the matter
But my will gets weak and my thoughts seem to scatter but I think it’s about
Forgiveness
Even if you don’t love me anymore
Don Henley, Don Henley “The Heart Of The Matter” on Austin City Limits
LoveForgiveness
FACEBOOK TWITTER
15.
The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong.
Mahatma Gandhi, The Story of My Experiments with Truth: An Autobiography
StrengthLifeForgiveness
FACEBOOK TWITTER
Love quotes?

You’re going love Quote Catalog.

Sign Up Follow Us
Find the right words
Follow Quote Catalog for more great content

Company History
thought.is
support@quotecatalog.com
Privacy Terms